Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football
MEAC offenses seek turnaround
(L-R) Quentin Williams and Greg McGhee
Two of the more experienced quarterbacks in the MEAC are
Howard's Greg McGhee, left, and Bethune-Cookman's Quentin Williams.
Philadelphia, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference offenses were offensive last season, just not in the good sense.

Bethune-Cookman and South Carolina State were co-champions again, and they both qualified for the FCS playoffs, but MEAC teams had a hard enough time moving the ball against each other, let alone when they went outside conference play.

The 2014 season brings a fresh start, and there is an excellent chance the MEAC title race will widen, although Bethune-Cookman and South Carolina State were still ranked 1-2 in the preseason coaches poll at Friday's media day in Norfolk, Virginia. North Carolina A&T was picked third and Howard, led by preseason offensive player of the year Greg McGhee, fourth.   Full Story

Monmouth has Big South blueprint
By Craig Haley, FCS Exec. Director
Philadelphia, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - They were shaking hands, exchanging stories and making each other feel good on Thursday.

The Monmouth Hawks shouldn't expect too many more pleasantries out of the other Big South Conference teams the rest of the year.

The Hawks are about to play their first season as an associate member in Big South football. Last year, they got a taste of the strength of the conference when they were pummeled by 30 points at Liberty as part of an independent schedule.  Full Story

FCS Football News
· In the FCS Huddle: MEAC offenses seek turnaround

· In the FCS Huddle: Monmouth has Big South blueprint

· In the FCS Huddle: SoCon retools, not rebuilds

More News

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.